DIY Emar Batalha Inspired Earrings

For the past week I have been watching my friends scramble to find the mothers in their family gifts for Mother’s Day. I am their go to person for gift ideas for whatever reason so I took it upon myself to gather a list of options before they came to me at the last minute. While on a hunt for possible ideas I came across Style.com’s post on Mother’s Day Gifts. I loved that everything about the post screamed femininity by playing on flowers and shades of pink/red. The ideas ranged from clothing, flowers, shoes, perfumes and candles.  Also on that list were a stunning pair of Emar Batalha earrings. I know plenty of mothers who would love to have those earrings.  However, the sound of a car skidding immediately played in my mind when I saw that they sell for $9,000. That is when I knew I had to try and make these earrings in the event that any of my friends did request information on how to obtain them which, a few have so far.  I happened to luck up at my local Michael’s craft store and found almost identical pendants and beading.

E9

E2

What You’ll Need:

  • glue gun & glue sticks
  • jump rings
  • pendants (It is important that your pendant has a hole ring on it)
  • beads*
    *the beading can be a small pendant as opposed to beading
  • earrings settings
  • round nose pliers
  • *scissors (these are only for detaching your pieces from the packaging)
  • *nail polish if you would like to paint over the jewels to make the earrings whatever colors you want
    [tutorial]

E3E4

1) Detach all your pieces from their packaging and lay them out accordingly. I personally put all the smaller items and remaining beads into small canisters for organization purposes.

E5

2) Using your pliers, separate the jump ring, making sure it is wide enough to fit both pieces on it.

E6

3) Once you have your bead and pendant attached, close the jump ring as tight as possible.

E7

4) Lay your connected pieces face side down and gather your earring settings. Apply hot glue to the back of the smaller bead, then using your pliers apply the setting to the glue and hold for roughly 5-10 seconds. Using pliers helps prevent any possible burning of the fingers.

E8

Once the glue dries, your earrings are good to go and ready to wear!

E1

word count: 391

One thought on “DIY Emar Batalha Inspired Earrings

Leave a Reply

